A Reflection on Education

I’m one of those people who have always had lots of questions. When I was little, I was constantly asking questions to my parents, my friends, my teachers, my grandparents, and anyone who would answer them for me.  I have to admit that I haven’t changed much, in that sense, as I’ve gotten older. I’m still asking my teachers “Why?” even when the answer has very little to do with the subject matter at hand. Learning enables me to ask those questions, and sometimes I’m able to figure out the answers to my questions on my own! I love being able to understand how things work, why people act the way they do, what I need to do to solve a problem, and even when I’m going to be able to use this knowledge in the future. I certainly hope that my sense of curiosity never goes away, because it is what wakes me up in the morning, excited to be going to school, excited to be going to class, and excited to be doing my work (even as nerdy as that may sound). I love the feeling when I know the answer to someone else’s question, and my hand shoots up in the air, before I even think about what I’m going to say. I love the give and take of classroom discussions, where I influence others with my ideas, and am influenced by others with their ideas. I love taking notes in just about every class, where I can go home and ask my parents if they know what I’m talking about. And when they don’t, I love being able to explain things to them.

The love I have for learning cannot be described in words. Without the support of my teachers at school, my curiosity would not be suppressed. I want every child on this planet to have access to such an opportunity as I have been given. To ask those questions and to get those answers. To get that education that they deserve.

–Sarah

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Reflection on Education

  1. Ferial Kheir

    Your inquisitive mind,Sarah,is absolutely your greatest asset. Not only will you learn about the world you live in but also you will touch many lives…
    “Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds you plant.” Robert Louis Stephenson.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

