Belated July 4 Recognition

July 4 notes the birth of America—the land of freedom, the country of dreams, the streets of gold. To me, July 4 is so much more than the date of our country’s founding. July 4 is another date that reminds me of all I have to be thankful for. And the first on my list of things to be thankful for is this country. My country. And now, the home of my family. Every now and then I think about what it would have been like for me if my family had never moved to America. My dreams would be crushed. In fact, I would probably never be allowed to even dream some of the things I have dreamed. So, living in America has opened my eyes to the freedoms I have been given. And I know that these freedoms are not something to be spoken of lightly. Not something to be forgotten about, and certainly not something to take for granted. These freedoms are not something only to be thought of on July 4—in fact, I should be living my dreams every day in order to be thankful for the sacrifices my family made for me when they came to America.

This project–to bring 100 laptops to Egypt by November–is my dream. I am proud to say that I am living my dreams here in America. But I can’t make this dream come true alone. I can’t. It’s impossible. But I’m not going to give up. I’m not going to stop dreaming. One day, this dream will come true. And who knows? Maybe in a year or two, not only will Spirit of the Youth and the Association for the Protection of the Environment have laptops from OLPC, but maybe other schools in the Zabaleen and throughout Egypt will, too.

–Sarah

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Belated July 4 Recognition

  1. Naim Kheir

    Great and thoughtful posting Sarah ….Blessings to
    you and best wishes for the successful completion of your project ……Naim and Ferial Kheir

    • I hope I am able to complete the project, too! Keep me and my project in your thoughts and prayers!
      –Sarah

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

