Seize the Day!

I know it’s been a while since I last posted, so I’m going to give you extra food for thought to make up for it!

Recently I have been thinking about how fast the time is flying. It’s hard to believe that it’s already August 2012! I remember on January 1, 2012 how crazy it was to imagine that we are now living in the year 2012. And now, that year is more than halfway over! I cannot believe that I will be starting my senior year of high school in just a week–I don’t even understand where the time has gone! And because I am approaching my senior year, I have been doing quite a bit of reflection over the last couple of weeks–remembering some of my best and worst moments of my life in general, but also about my time in high school. That’s when I started reminiscing about my first day of freshman year. 

Following the usual traditions of taking school pictures and meeting with your advisor, our school shortens classes into just 15 minute periods to ensure that everyone meets all their teachers by the end of the first day. My first period class was Latin I, and I was ecstatic. I had known the Latin teacher since I had arrived at Columbus School for Girls more than five years earlier, and I had been dying to have her as my teacher every since. Because the class was only 15 minutes long, there was only so much that could get accomplished. So instead of assigning homework and passing out textbooks, my Latin teacher focused our discussion on a simple two-word Latin sentence.

Carpe Diem.

Or, “seize the day.”

Our 20-person class discussed that simple phrase for the entirety of the 15 minutes, and when the bell rang, no one wanted to get up. We were all so engaged and involved that it almost didn’t matter that I had to make my way to the Geometry room on the other side of the building in just 5 minutes. 

Seize the day.

So, what does it mean to seize the day?

Similarly to my last post, in my mind, seizing the day means taking advantage of every opportunity that comes in your way. But seizing the day also means to not waste any time. 

I don’t want to sound morbid or sad but let’s face it–we only have so much time here on Earth. Sometimes we think that we will last forever and we forget to spend our time wisely with such a mentality. We waste our time doing pointless tasks that will in no way impact the rest of our lives. But instead we should be seizing the day. Getting out there and living the dreams we have been dreaming since the day we were born. Why wait? Who knows how much time you have left? Again, I’m not meaning to be morbid or scary or insensitive. 

So get out there and do it. Whatever it is. You know what I’m talking about. Maybe there’s someone you haven’t talked to for years, and you’ve been waiting for just the right time to strike up a conversation. Seize the day! Maybe there’s something you’ve been running from for years and you don’t know how to face it. Carpe diem! Maybe there’s a goal you’ve been meaning to reach but you can’t figure out how to start. Seize the day!

–Sarah

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Seize the Day!

  1. Naim Kheir

    Excellent thought Sarah wrapped up in a lovely personal HS story…best wishes in your senior year and keep the focus in focus..love from GP and GM

    • I honestly couldn’t think of a better discussion to have on the first day of school, if I had been a teacher! Carpe diem!
      –Sarah

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

