New Beginnings

In all the chaos of the end of summer, I have been unable to write until today. But that’s okay, because today’s events scream new things to write of. 

Today was my first day of school for the 2012-2013 school year. Today also happened to be the first day of my senior year in high school. Today, therefore, was my last first day of school, if that makes any sense. Essentially, today is the culmination of beginnings and ends, but mostly beginnings. Today I had the opportunity to reconnect with my teachers and classmates and participate in a service honoring the Class of 2013 which ultimately left a lasting impression on me. I have looked forward to today since my first day of first grade, and now it’s finally here. 

Because I am in the homestretch of my high school career, it is the perfect time for me to focus on creating new beginnings. I have been given the privilege to finesse all the skills and material I have learned in my last eleven years of schooling all before I reach college in just a short year. Today is my chance to put aside any bad habits of procrastination and distraction and instead fix my eyes upon determination and motivation. As always at the start of a new year, all my past education affects my present and my future education. Everything I have once learned can be looked at in a deeper level, with a deeper understanding, and a deeper knowledge.

Today is my chance to start over. To erase any bad memories from my junior year. Or, rather, to use my expediences from my junior year–good and bad–to shape and mold my senior year into one that I will never forget. This year will be especially challenging as I balance an already-crazy workload of six core classes with applying for college and working on my Laptops for Egypt project. 

So what, in fact, does this rant of new beginnings have to do with raising money for the Zabaleen children in Egypt? Everything, actually. Everything. Today as I am reminded about my chance to have a new beginning in my academic life at school, I can also use this opportunity to have a new beginning in my service work with Laptops for Egypt, too. I can set aside any unfortunate news that has stemmed from this project–unaccepted grants and unwilling-to-participate organizations–and instead refocus my seemingly-never-ending-list-of-things-to-do into a realistic set of tasks to help me achieve exactly what I want: $25,000 by November 30, 2012. 

And all I have to do is keep my eye on the tiger. 

Just as Jim Rohn said, “If you want more, you first have to become more.”

–Sarah

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. Naim Kheir

    Congratulations dear Sarah for having completed your “last -first -day” in High School !!!!
    Yesterday , I saw on TV an Ad from HP computers,and I remembered you . The focus of the Ad parallels your goal from the project and that is to marry “technology, education with people”.
    Wishing you the best achievement in your Senior Year.
    Naim

  2. Ferial Kheir

    Dear Sarah, your passion and persistence in pursuing this noble dream are the fuel that will make Laptops for Egypt a realizable endeavor.Strengthen your grip and move forward.

    • Thank you so much for your emotional support! I really appreciate it! This is definitely the time to “strengthen my grip,” as you mentioned.
      –Sarah

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

