More Updates!

So…it’s been a little while since I’ve last posted. I must say that the last 1.5 weeks have been so incredibly stressful at school that I haven’t had the time to sit down and write a post until now. But never fear, updates are here! 🙂

I honestly still cannot believe what I am typing right now. As I sit here and write this message, only 13 days since I last posted a money update, our donations have grown. A lot. In just 13 days, I am proudly saying that we are APPROACHING $14,000! Yes, I’m serious. So far, we have raised close to $14,000! I am in complete shock, despite the fact that I have known about this amazing news for several days now. It is impossible for me to fully express to you, my readers, out there how overjoyed, ecstatic, and proud I am to be so far in this project.

When I first conceived this idea, I literally had no idea what was going to happen. At the beginning, I thought I was crazy for dreaming this dream. Only crazy people make up such unrealistic goals, Sarah, I told myself. You’re never going to be able to make this happen, that little voice in my head said. Do you really expect to be able to raise any money, much less $25,000, in just a few months? I had no idea that my little idea would ever turn into anything more than just that–a little idea.

But now, look at how far Laptops for Egypt has come. We have surpassed the halfway point! I am finally beginning to visualize the events to come in my head. In just under two months, (hopefully) the rest of the money will have been raised. The order for the 100 laptops will have been placed. And in May, I will either deliver the laptops to the two Zabaleen schools, Spirit of the Youth and the Association for the Protection of the Environment, or send them off with teachers only to hear of the amazing opportunity these computers will bring their recipients.

I can see it now. The smiles on the faces of the kids. The tears of joy at the fact that their everyday school days will have been transformed from that day forward. These kids will be walking home, hands full of technology and opportunity, instead of just from carrying garbage to their homes to be sorted and recycled. Can you even imagine the transformation that will take place? When I try to visualize the possibilities, tears are brought to my eyes. I cannot wait to see this happen. 

I know this is SUPER exciting news, and I definitely would hate to dampen the spirits when we clearly have a reason to celebrate. But here’s the thing–we can’t spend all of our time celebrating at the fact that we have already come so far. We have to keep going. We can’t stop now! These kids need this. 

So here’s what I need you all to do. I’m not asking you to pull out your pocketbooks and write a check to Hands Along the Nile while specifying “One Laptop Per Child” (although if you feel so inclined, anyone associated with Laptops for Egypt will greatly appreciate your generous contribution). I’m saying that because this project is not over–isn’t close to being over–that we need to spread the word. Send this blog address to someone you know. Because even if they don’t donate anything, maybe they know someone else who would like to make a contribution. Amazing things can only happen if people are informed about the situation at hand. 

Thank you all for all you’ve already done. Your support in any way, shape or form means the world to me. I thank you all from the bottom of my heart. I can’t do any of this, financially or emotionally, without all of you.

–Sarah

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “More Updates!

  1. So excited about your progress! I know you’ll make it! I am impressed by your determination & perseverance. You’ve come a long way! These kids deserve the right to a good education & better way of life and I hope these computers will change their world.
    Karen

    • I am equally excited about how far this project has come! I really appreciate your constant support to spread the word of this project–I hope you know that I can’t do any of this without you 🙂
      –Sarah

  2. Ned Audeh

    Good luck to you Sarah. W are proud of you dedication.

  3. Ferial Kheir

    Sarah dearest,

    That is awesome, Sarah! What a forward leap!!!! We are all excited about you and your noble project…What determination!!! We are behind you all the way…Blessings,

    Ferial

    • So glad to hear that you share in my excitement–it’s only uphill from here toward that $25,000! Thanks for your uplifting comments, as usual 🙂
      –Sarah

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

