Well…what’s next?

Each and every day as I get closer to reaching my financial goal, I keep wondering what’s going to happen next. If all goes well and I do raise the money, I do buy the computers, and I do take them to Egypt, then, well, what happens next?

To some of you, the answer might seem obvious. Sarah, you think to yourself, you’ve reached your goal. The project is done. And to that I respond, well, not exactly.

Technically speaking, I won’t be done even after the laptops have been delivered to the children of the Zabaleen. I will be keeping in touch with the teachers at both schools, The Spirit of the Youth and The Association for the Protection of the Environment, and making sure that any of their questions about the computers are answered. I will be providing them curriculum and guides to troubleshooting. But even so, that’s not really what I’m talking about in this post.

I keep thinking to myself, what on Earth am I going to be doing with my time once this project is basically done? Once I won’t have any more money to be raised or proposals to write or phone calls to be made, then what? What’s going to happen to me? Will I have a reason to blog?

But I’ve recently come to the conclusion that yes, I will still have much to do. Yes, I will continue to blog. So, after much thought, I’ve come to the realization that just because this one project might be over (I’m ignoring the technicalities here) that doesn’t mean that my passions have died. It doesn’t mean that I’m going to stop wanting to spread education to the ends of the Earth. And since I’m such a methodical person, I’ve come up with a “top-three” list of things to keep in mind as soon as you have met your goal–whatever that may be– and where to go from there.

1. Don’t let your passions die out.

Just because you have reached whatever goal you have been pursuing, it doesn’t mean that you suddenly have lost that inner passion you have within you. So just because you train to ride in Pelatonia doesn’t mean that you should stop your fight for finding a cure to cancer after the race is over. And same goes for this project. Don’t let yourself become blinded or passive to the problems of this world just because you have made a difference. Which leads me to my second point of…

2. There is never a limit on how much difference you can make in this world.

Let’s face it–we live in a crazy world. A world that is filled with many good things but also many painful things. Things like disease and lack of education and poverty. The list is endless, and I am not saying that just to sound pessimistic. So just because you have finished one project or you have reached one particular goal that leads to make a difference in the world around you doesn’t mean that you are done with service for the rest of your life. It is very easy to become arrogant with yourself after you’ve done something that contributes to society, but I am warning you now to fight this urge. Don’t get a big head and tell yourself that your work is done and that you should live a life completely ignoring the work that still needs to be done in this world.

3. Don’t forget about the lessons you have learned from your past–instead apply them to your future.

In previous posts, I have talked about the amazing lessons I have learned from starting Laptops for Egypt. I want to encourage all of you to apply the lessons you have learned from your past into your daily life. When I learned about the fact that I cannot control everything that happens in my life, no matter how hard I try, such a lesson does not just apply to the Laptops for Egypt portion of my life. It applies to everything. Every interaction with people and every project I become involved with later in my life.

–Sarah

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

