Update!

Hello readers!

I know it’s been a long while since I last posted, but I would like to start off by saying that we have extended the deadline for donations toward my financial goal until the end of 2012. That means that you have exactly 29 days to make your final donations or to reach out and tell someone who might be interested in donating about this project. We can do this! I have faith in how much progress we have already made. And speaking of which, I would like to give a current money update, which first must be prefaced by some news. 

After having a conference call late last week about our financial status with my partners at Hands Along the Nile, we have come to the conclusion that shipping 100 laptops is actually much more expensive than we thought. Not only will the amount of money we raise have to account for the actual purchase of 100 laptops, but it will also have to cover the cost of shipping them from Shanghai (where they are manufactured) via ocean, since the order is too small to be carried via plane from DHL. Very complicated stuff. Anyways, we have ultimately decided to extend our deadline to the end of 2012 because we will have to actually raise just over $30,000 rather than the expected $25,000. This may seem to be a little overbearing, considering that we are adding $5,000 to our original estimate to cover the costs and we only have a month to raise the money, HOWEVER, I am pleased to tell you all that we have actually surpassed our original goal and we have now raised about $27,000!

Yes, I just said it. We have raised $27,000 to bring 100 laptops to Egypt. I cannot believe how far we’ve come! I have had so many mixed emotions swirling around in my head as soon as I heard the wonderful news that I have decided to dedicate an entire post to what it feels like to finally reach your goal. Look for it in just a few minutes!

I want to thank you all from the bottom of my heart for reading, supporting, donating, sharing, thinking, and praying for this project. I could not do anything without your help.

–Sarah

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.