Check out the XO 4.0’s!

Check out the XO 4.0’s!

For those of you who have been invested in this project (both emotionally and financially speaking), I wanted to provide some information about the laptops that have been purchased for this project.

When I first started Laptops for Egypt, I didn’t realize that OLPC was developing a new computer that was going to be launched around the same time as the deployment of this project. In my experience with XO laptops, I have dealt primarily with the XO 1.0s and the XO 1.5s. Even though the 1.0s were the first of these laptops to be released on the market in 2007, they are still well-functioning and very capable machines with all the amazing software I have spoken about regarding these laptops. 

If you’re not too familiar with why Laptops for Egypt has chosen One Laptop Per Child’s (OLPC) computers, let me give you a little bit of background information. The founder of OLPC is a guy named Nicholas Negroponte, who is connected with MIT. Prior to their first manufacture round in 2007, Negroponte had the dream of developing computers that were made for children in third world countries that were affordable and made for kids. He and his coworkers developed the XO laptop–computers that are easy to carry around, hard to break, and only $250 a piece. His eventual goal was to bring down the price of the laptops to $100, which OLPC is still working on right now. The mission statement of OLPC is to educate the world’s poorest children, since no matter the economical status of a child, education is a gift that can never be taken away. 

Since 2007, these computers have come a long way! The ones we have ordered for our Laptops for Egypt project are the newest versions of the computers–the XO 4.0s! I’m super excited to be working with these computers, because in addition to some software updates and a better keyboard, these computers are also touchscreens! I’ve never worked with them before, so I’m definitely excited for a new challenge as well 🙂

Above you will find a link to an informative article written about these laptops. Hopefully it will answer any of the questions you have about these laptops, and if not, please feel free to leave me a comment below or contact me through the link in the upper right hand corner of the page. I will do my best to answer your questions, and if I don’t know the answer, I have lots of people who can help.

–Sarah Naguib

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Check out the XO 4.0’s!

  1. Wow, I admire your dream of bringing in cheap laptops in to Egypt. And at such a young age, you’re already contributing something to society. Keep it up!

  2. Hey! I’ve been interested in these for a few years now but unable to see how I could sensibly get a hold of one in Egypt (I’m a teacher in Sinai). I’m very interested to hear how it’s going with you

  3. in modern way laptop is very necessary for everyone at list every child & every old man its really important.
    laptops

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

